« Back to news list
Board of Education Recognizes LFO Academic Decathlon Team

News Image

On Tuesday, September 6, 2016, the Catoosa County Board of Education recognized Lakeview Fort-Oglethorpe High School’s Academic Decathlon Team for their success in the state and national competitions. On February 27, 2016, the Lakeview-Fort Oglethorpe Academic Decathlon team was presented with the prestigious Howard Stroud Trophy for winning the 2016 PAGE Academic Decathlon State Championship. Over 200 students from 23 high schools competed in the event. This was LFO’s sixth state championship in the past eight years. The team has also earned eleven Division II championships in the past twelve years. Superintendent Denia Reese said, “It is an honor for the school and the system that LFO’s Academic Decathlon Team won the state competition. It is truly outstanding that LFO has won the Georgia Academic Decathlon Championship for six years in a row.”

Based on their success at the state competition, Lakeview Fort-Oglethorpe High School represented Georgia at the national competition in Anchorage, Alaska, on April 28th-30th. The team placed 23rd in Division I and 8th in Division II. Superintendent Reese said, “In addition to working hard to prepare for the competition, these students and their coaches had to work hard to raise the money to participate in the national competition. I would like to thank everyone who donated money to help the team travel to Alaska. I know it was a great experience for our students.”

Academic Decathlon is unique in that it enables not only traditionally high-performing “A” students to be challenged. This competition also includes students who struggle with traditional school lessons, but who love to learn. The final team is comprised of nine students: three students with “A” averages (3.75- 4.00 GPA), three students with “B” averages (3.0-3.74 GPA), and three students with “C” averages (below 3.0 GPA). Team members began preparing in August 2015 by reading and studying approximately 1,000 pages of college-level material. All nine team members compete in all ten events. The competition theme changes each year; this year’s theme was India. The ten events include: social science, art, music, literature, economics, science, math, speech, interview, and essay.

Individual Awards include:

In the Honor Division:

• Valerie King won a gold medal in music, a silver medal in science, and bronze medals in art and in social science;

• Binal Patel placed second in the state in the Honor Division winning the silver medal, and he placed fourth in the science event. He won gold medals in economics and in social science; silver medals in language and literature, music, and art; and a bronze medal in social science;

• Selma Kajtazovic placed third in the state in the Honor Division winning the bronze medal, and she placed fourth in the economics event. She won a gold medal in science, a silver medal in social science, and bronze medals in music and in art.

In the Scholastic Division:

• John Muina placed first in the Scholastic Division winning the gold medal, and he placed fourth in the speech event. He won a gold medal in art, a silver medal in language and Literature, and bronze medals in music and in science;

• Alaina Joyner placed fourth in the Scholastic Division in art, and she won a silver medal in music.

In the Varsity Division:

• Addison Smith placed third in the state in the Varsity Division winning the bronze medal, and she placed fourth in the language & literature event. She won gold medals in music, science, economics, and social science; and a bronze medal in art;

• John Christopher placed fourth in the Varsity Division in science, art, and economics. He also won a bronze medal in language and literature.

In the National Competition:

• Binal Patel won a gold medal in speech in the Honors Division;

• Addison Smith won a silver in economics, and a bronze medal in science in the Varsity Division;

• Valerie King was the highest scoring team member and the most valuable team member. She received a $250 scholarship for each award.

Superintendent Reese said, “I am so proud of these young people for their diligence studying to be so successful in this prestigious competition. Their accomplishments are outstanding. I also appreciate Lisa and Ian Beck for their dedication to prepare LFO’s Academic Decathlon Team to succeed in this competition every year.”

Pictured L to R: Vice-Chairman David Moeller, Jack Sims, Chairman Don Dycus, Coach Ian Beck, Team member John Muina, Coach Lisa Beck, LFO Principal Terri Vandiver, Superintendent Denia Reese, Gloria Hunt, and Melvin Edwards.



Catoosa County Public Schools | P.O. Box 130 | Ringgold, GA 30736 | (706) 965-2297